Just Own Yo Sh*T

Since the beginning of my journey as a content creator, working continuously on being present mentally has had it’s ups and downs. For me, showing up in the physical has always been a breeze. However making sure that I show up mentally everyday in any aspects, whether it’s for my dream creative content career or for my real life job & priorities, it can feel like a task. There’s been so many obstacles that I face on a daily basis including writers block, struggling with being consistent with my work, overthinking on where im at in the present and where i want to be in the future, second guessing myself & sometimes not putting my full effort knowing that i could do better. Also factor in balancing these struggles with clocking into my day job that I’ve outgrown and am continually trying to maneuver all while trying to think about my next move while trying to keep this job temporarily due to Covid-19. I’m still really grateful for work keeping me afloat and not having to worry about going without during this pandemic. Now having said that, I’m diligently preparing for my next life transition into being full time as a content writer while going back to school for my career. While transitioning, there’s so many things that I’m learning to embrace within myself. Sometimes it gets very overwhelming mentally if I allow it to. However, the moment when i manage to shake off that feeling of fear to remember who I am & how blessed i am, i shake back into being myself.

The other day I was listening to my man Al Patron’s new episode from his podcast Learn Life where the new episode was titled “Special Delivery.” On this new episode he was talking about our demeanor when we’re fighting for what we believe in. He had said while on the podcast, “A lot of people aren’t prepared to hear the truth. And a lot of people haven’t reconciled the truth within themselves. And I feel like a lotta people prefer Validation over Affirmation. Like they’re always looking for a pat on the back. They’re always looking fo everyones approvals instead of doing things that align with their peace of mind.” That quote on the podcast stuck with me. While we’re on our own journey, whether we realized it or not, we may do things that look like we’re seeking approval from our peers, our listeners, critics, etc. There’s nothing wrong with wanting confirmation that you’re on the right path. It’s understandable because as a working creative, we want to always make sure that the work we do is purposeful & genuine. The reality though is that sometimes you might not receive that full confirmation all the time from others. Sometimes you just have to look yourself in the mirror, and declare to self that you are enough and that you deserve all of the things that you’re working for. It’s your job to recognize within yourself that you are what you say you are. Aka you have to own your purpose, own your craft aka Own Yo’ Shit.

If you know what type of person you want to be & you have been working consistently on building up that person, writing down who that person is and how you want to be, then you owe yourself that favor of becoming that person. That’s part of manifestation. You speak your affirmations out loud to God, look yourself in the mirror and declare that shit. Once you’ve set the tone for yourself, you start moving accordingly as to how your higher self should move.

At the beginning of this process it may be a challenge for yourself because not only does it take time to really feel the words you speak out for yourself but also it may sound real silly to you. But this is where you can allow your vision come into play.Creating that vision in your head and constantly speaking power onto yourself. That’s part of the process of owning 110% of yourself. You’re more than capable and more than enough. We live in a new present day where you have the ability to make changes for yourself that you can make at any given moment.You can really put your mind to it and become whoever the fuck you want to become. Always remember as well we are in a new day. This isn’t like how life was 2-3 decades ago where our parents had to sacrifice their dream goals in order to pay the bills and raises us millennials. Today we have the chance to become whoever we want to become and create our own lane. It’s a skys the limit type of world and we’re responsible for who we want to become. So remember this the next time you’re having an episode where you’re really feeling like you’re not enough. Look yourself in the mirror and recognize that you are ENOUGH.

Leave a comment